About Council

Council building

The Council is a body of nine members who are elected for a four year term to carry out duties under the provisions of the Local Government Act and Regulations. Each year a Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by the members of the Council. The Mayor, as well as being Chairman of Meetings, represents Council when it is not in session.

The elected body is supported by a team of Council staff who are responsible for bringing the policies and changes into effect.

More information about Council