Demolition photos and footage

The Project

In March 2012, Wagga Wagga City Council resolved to demolish Hampden Bridge due to significant deterioration of the timbers, the cost of rehabilitation and ongoing maintenance expenditure.

The Bridge has been an iconic part of Wagga Wagga's visual and historical landscape for 118 years.

Jump to...

Hampden Bridge was officially opened on 11 November 1895 by the New South Wales Minister for Works, J. H. Young and named in honour of the new Governor of the colony, Sir Henry Robert Brand, 2nd Viscount Hampden.

Hampden Bridge was the second of three bridges to have served as a crossing in that location. The third (and currently operational) Wiradjuri Bridge was opened in 1995 downstream of the Hampden Bridge, replacing the Hampden as the vehicular crossing point.

Hampden Bridge continued to serve as a footbridge and cycle-way until it was permanently closed to all public access in August 2006 due to safety concerns.

To keep informed on this important project, bookmark this page to find weekly updates of the demolition project and other relevant documentation.

Demolition Time Lapse

Demolition Video

Demolition Pictures

Click the images below to view a larger version

Small Hampden Bridge Demolition 1 

Small Hampden Bridge Demolition  

Small Hampden Bridge Demolition  

Small Hampden Bridge Demolition  

Small Hampden Bridge Demolition  

Hampden Bridge Demolition 6 

Bridge Pano 

 

The Project

In March 2012, Wagga Wagga City Council resolved to demolish Hampden Bridge due to significant deterioration of the timbers, the cost of rehabilitation and ongoing maintenance expenditure.

The Bridge has been an iconic part of Wagga Wagga's visual and historical landscape for 118 years.

Hampden Bridge was officially opened on 11 November 1895 by the New South Wales Minister for Works, J. H. Young and named in honour of the new Governor of the colony, Sir Henry Robert Brand, 2nd Viscount Hampden.

Hampden Bridge was the second of three bridges to have served as a crossing in that location. The third (and currently operational) Wiradjuri Bridge was opened in 1995 downstream of the Hampden Bridge, replacing the Hampden as the vehicular crossing point.

Hampden Bridge continued to serve as a footbridge and cycleway until it was permanently closed to all public access in August 2006 due to safety concerns.

To keep informed on this important project, bookmark this page to find weekly updates of the demolition project and other relevant documentation.