Road Reseal Program 2016/17

The City of Wagga Wagga undertakes its reseal program throughout summer and early spring each year.

Works for 2017 begin on Tuesday 10 January and traffic conditions throughout the city will be subject to change, including road closures and partial road closures.

All traffic changes will be signposted and all works start at 7am.

What is resealing?

Resealing is a common preventative road maintenance technique where a new coat of bitumen and stone/aggregate is applied over an existing surface.

The City of Wagga Wagga’s annual reseal program extends the life of local roads by:

  • Increasing the surface texture for better tyre friction
  • Sealing cracks in the existing surface to protect the pavement beneath from moisture
  • Preventing the existing surface from further oxidisation (UV degradation)
  • Maintains the surface to a good condition

Second stage schedule and traffic conditions

Saturday 4 March, Morrow Street

Road closed from Baylis Street to Tarcutta Street

Saturday 4 March, O’Reilly Street

Road closed to Myer car park entrance

Sunday 5 March, Tompson Street

Road closed from Baylis Street to Tarcutta Street

Tuesday 7 March, Beckwith Street

Road closed from Kindcaid Street to The Esplanade

Wednesday 8 March - Friday 10 March, Best Street

Stage 1: Road closed Sturt Highway to Morgan Street 
Stage 2: Road closed Morgan Street to Forsyth Street
Stage 3: Road closed Forsyth Street to Tompson Street 
Stage 4: Road closed  Forsyth Street to The Esplande

Saturday 11 March - Sunday 12 March, Docker Street

Stage 1: Road closed Sturt Highway to Dobbs Street
Stage 2: Road closed Sturt Highway to Chaston Street

Tuesday 14 March - Wednesday 15 March, Kincaid Street

Road closed from Olympic Highway to Slocum Street
Road closed from  McKinnon Street to Beckwith Street

Sunday 18 March - Sunday 19 March, Tarcutta Street

Road closed from Day Street to Johnston Street. Access between Forsyth Street to Small Street (through the roundabout) will be maintained.

First stage schedule

Sections of the following roads were resealed during the first stage:

  • Coleman Street
  • Flinders Street
  • Johnston Street
  • Urana Street
  • Faye Avenue
  • Chaston Street
  • Fernleigh Road
  • The Esplanade
  • Lake Albert Road