Leadership & Structure

Organisation Strucutre

Council’s current organisational structure is made up for five directorates – Community, Financial, Commercial, Regional Activation and Governance.

These directorates are led by the executive management team, consisting of the General Manager and four Directors. The executive management team are responsible for managing the implementation of Council’s decisions.

Organisation Structure

Executive Team

Peter Thompson - General Manager

Governance Directorate

General Manager, Peter Thompson

Key responsibilities include Executive and Councillor Support; Audit, Risk and Governance; Marketing and Communications;  People and Culture; Riverina Regional Library, Town Planning (Development Assessment), Building Certification, Plumbing

Caroline Angel

Commercial Operations Directorate

Director Commercial Operations, Caroline Angel

Key responsibilities include Roads; Parks, Sewer, Stormwater, Engineering, Subdivisions, Asset Condition Assessment, Project Management, Council Businesses

Janice Summerhayes

Community Directorate

Director Community, Janice Summerhayes

Key responsibilities include Community Services; Cultural facilities and public programs; Events; Tourism / Visitor Economy; Environmental Services; City Compliance / Ranger Services

Natalie Te Pohe

Corporate Services Directorate

Director Corporate Services, Natalie Te Pohe

Key responsibilities include Financial Services; Procurement; Corporate Planning, Information Technology; Corporate Systems; Customer Service

Michael Keys

Regional Activation Directorate

Director Regional Activation, Michael Keys

Key responsibilities include Strategic Land Use Planning, Economic Development, Urban Design, Recreation Planning, Asset Planning, Developer Contributions, Property Management, RIFL, Bomen Enterprise Area

The three tiers of government: Federal, State & Local

Federal : Decisions affect all Australians (national economy, defence etc.)
State : Decisions affect each State only (education, Police Force etc.)
Local : Decisions affect each local area only (local roads, libraries, garbage services, parks & gardens, drainage etc.).

Federal Government Member

Michael McCormack

Michael McCormack MP

Member for Riverina
81-83 Forsyth Street
Telephone: 02 6921 2402
Email: michael.mccormack.mp@aph.gov.au
Website: www.michaelmccormack.com.au

State Government Member

Dr Joe McGirr

Dr Joe McGirr MP

Member for Wagga Wagga
64 Baylis Street
Email: waggawagga@parliament.nsw.gov.au