The Armorial Bearings of the City of Wagga Wagga

armorial bearings
The Armorial Bearings of the City Of Wagga Wagga

Granted by letters Patent dated 15th November, 1965


ARMS: Vert on a fess between in chief eight stalks of wheat each four in the form of the letter W and in base a Merino ram's head caboshed all Or a bar wavy Azure.

CREST: Out of a mural crown in front of a caduceus or winged Sabrel eight leaves of the River Red Gum tree (Eucalyptus Camaldulensis) conjoined and in the form of two letters W proper. Manteled Vert doubled Or.

SUPPORTERS: On either side a crow wings addorsed proper gorged with a collar dancetty Or and perched on a forked twig the whole upon a compartment of grass divided by water barry wavy Argent and Azure.

MOTTO: Forward in Faith.


SHIELD: The gold band and green is from the arms of Captain Charles Sturt, discoverer of the area. The blue waves represents the Murrumbidgee River. The wheat stalks, arranged like the letters WW, and Merino ram's head are for the principal industries.

CREST: The mural crown represents a civic community. The eight leaves of the River Red Gum tree, arranged like the letters WW, stand in front of the caduccus of Mercury, God of Commerce.

SUPPORTERS: The crows, taken from the former seal, recall the meaning of the City's name ("Place of Many Crows"). They wear distinguishing collars in the form of a W and stand on a base of grass divided by water, representing the building of the City on either side of the river.

(The Sturt Arms were granted by the Kings of Arms at the College to Anthony Sturt, Alderman of London in 1691.)

The Arms were designed by Mr H Ellis Tomlinson, MA, FHS of Lancashire, England.

The Arms were negotiated with H.M. College of Arms, through Messrs. Shaw and Sons Limited, of London.

The Motto: "Forward in Faith" was selected by the Council as a result of a public competition. This was the winning entry and was submitted by Mrs Belle Carlin, of Belmore, NSW.

The Letters Patent and City Flag were dedicated by the local Clergy and formally handed over by the Chief Justice of N.S.W., Sir Leslie Heron, KBE, CMG, on 2 June, 1966.