Leadership & Structure

Council’s current organisational structure is made up for five directorates – Regional Activation, Community Services, Governance, Infrastructure Services & Projects.

Organisation Structure

Council's five directorates are led by the executive management team, consisting of the General Manager and four Directors.

The executive management team are responsible for managing the implementation of Council’s decisions.

Organisational Structure

Executive Team

Peter Thompson - General Manager


General Manager, Peter Thompson

Key responsibilities include Executive and Councillor Support; Audit, Risk and Governance; Marketing and Communications;  People and Culture; Riverina Regional Library, Town Planning (Development Assessment), Building Certification, Plumbing

Carolyn Rodney - Chief Financial Officer


Chief Financial Officer, Carolyn Rodney

Key responsibilities include Financial Accounting, Management Accounting, Revenue, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, Procurement, Payroll.

Scott Gray - Chief Operating Officer


Chief Operating Officer, Scott Gray

Key responsibilities include Executive Support; Communications & Engagement, Information Technology, Customer Service, Records, Corporate Strategy.

Janice Summerhayes - Director Community Services

Community Services

Director Community Services, Janice Summerhayes

Key responsibilities include Community Services; Cultural facilities and public programs; Events; Tourism / Visitor Economy; Environmental Services; City Compliance / Ranger Services

Warren Faulkner - Director Infrastructure Services

Infrastructure Services

Director Infrastructure Services, Warren Faulkner

Key responsibilities include Sewer & stormwater operations; Traffic & transport operations; Parks & strategic operations; Asset management; Plant, fleet, workshop, buildings & stores; Subdivisions

Phil McMurray - Director Strategy & Projects

Strategy & Projects

Director Strategy & Projects, Phil McMurray

Key responsibilities include Project Management Office; Design office; Flood plain management; Asset management systems

John Sidgwick - Director Regional Activation

Regional Activation Directorate

Director Regional Activation, John Sidgwick

Key responsibilities include Strategic Land Use Planning, Economic Development, Urban Design, Recreation Planning, Asset Planning, Developer Contributions, Property Management, RIFL, Bomen Enterprise Area

The three tiers of government: Federal, State & Local

Federal : Decisions affect all Australians (national economy, defence etc.)
State : Decisions affect each State only (education, Police Force etc.)
Local : Decisions affect each local area only (local roads, libraries, garbage services, parks & gardens, drainage etc.).

Federal Government Member

Michael McCormack

Michael McCormack MP

Member for Riverina
Federal Member for Riverina
Suite 2/11-15 Fitzmaurice Street
Telephone:  02 6921 4600
Email: michael.mccormack.mp@aph.gov.au
Website: www.michaelmccormack.com.au

State Government Member

Dr Joe McGirr

Dr Joe McGirr MP

Member for Wagga Wagga
64 Baylis Street
Email: waggawagga@parliament.nsw.gov.au