Australia Day
Celebrate Australia Day in Wagga Wagga 2024

2024 Australia Day Award Finalists

2024 Citizen of the Year - Annette St Clair

Annette has shown unwavering commitment to the medical profession, along with exceptional contributions to the community. Annette worked as a registered nurse at Wagga Base Hospital for 29 years before joining Peter Street Medical as a Practice Nurse.

In 2010, Annette formed the Amie St Clair Melanoma Trust in memory of her daughter who lost her battle with the disease at an early age. Annette has been an active volunteer with the Cancer Council for over 10 years, where her enthusiasm and passionate nature has made her a wonderful advocate in the local community. Annette also dedicates her time to participating and organising many community initiatives including a Free Community Skin Check Day, Student Ambassador Day, Saturday Morning Disabled Bowling, Relay for Life, St Paul’s Youth Group, and the highly successful ‘Living Well After Cancer’ workshops which has assisted local carers and survivors.

Previous Citizen of the Year recipients

YearRecipient Name
2014Aunty Isabel Reid
2015Kerry Geale
2016Joe Williams
2017Dianne Jacobson
2018Phil Hoey
2019Alan Lean
2020Lynne Graham
2021Belinda Crain
2022Deidre Tome
2023Alan Pottie

2024 Young Citizen of the Year - Angus Smith

Angus is described as an expectational young person who has contributed so much to the local community and state. He is passionate about politics, human rights, and the role of young people in democracy. He presents himself as a reliable, considerate, and compassionate individual who serves as an inspiration for other young people. Angus was Service Captain for The Riverina Anglican College 2023, and upon graduating, he was awarded the College Blue Color Award in Leadership. In 2023, Angus was selected as the Y NSW Youth Parliamentarian, and he was awarded the Youth Shadow Minister for Transport & Infrastructure representing the electorate of Wagga. He attended the Future23 National Conference in Canberra where he represented youth in regional areas. Angus was also actively involved as a team leader in the YES23 campaign, working tirelessly to facilitate social media and communication.

Previous Young Citizen of the Year recipients

YearRecipient Name
2014Angela Burns
2015Sally Tanner
2016Hannah Kempton
2017Isobel Cowell
2018Francis Elliot-Rudder
2019Matthew Lennon
2020Meghan Graham
2021Clare Lawlor
2022Chloe Hinds
2023Maimuna Zaman
2024Angus Smith

The Baylis Street Walk of Honour was instigated in 1998 to recognise substantial contributors to the City of Wagga Wagga

The award forms part of Council's Australia Day Awards - confirming Council's belief in the importance of recognising those members of our community who have given so much of themselves to our city.

Nominations open in conjunction with the Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Ted Ryder Sports Memorial awards in the second half of the year and the winners are announced on Australia Day.

View the Walk of Honour Plaque locations

2024 Walk of Honour Inductee - Peter Cox

The late Peter Cox is described as an exemplary figure within their community, embodying the spirit of inspiration and selfless dedication. Peter’s impact on our community is immeasurable, he dedicated over 30 years to supporting, encouraging, and providing opportunities for countless individuals in the arts. His creative endeavors include writing, directing, producing, and leading numerous projects. His prolific work in film, stage and the teaching profession have nurtured countless talents and fostered a thriving arts scene in the Riverina. His feature films "Backyard Ashes" and "The Merger" have displayed the essence of Wagga to audiences worldwide. On stage, Peter directed and produced many musical tribute acts, stage productions, and interactive performances that nourished the talents of many local performers.

Previous Walk of Honour recipients

Year Recipient Name
1998 Ada Beatrice Webb
1998 Cedric Thomas
1998 William and Amy Hurd
1998 Robert John Hurst
1998 Henry Angel
1998 Edna Busse
1998 John Hurst Edmonson
1998 Yvonne Elsie-May Gilchrist
1998 Albert Louis Burgman
1998 Jane Lindsay Scott
1999 Donald Moreton Kendell
1999 Trixie and Margaret Read
1999 Colin Campbell Knott
1999 John Ansell
1999 Henry Ernest and Morris Henry Gissing
1999 Edgar Hugh Graham
1999 Carol Moffit
1999 Leyton Selwyn "Don" Joyes
1999 Rosina Mary Grosse
2002 William George Fitzroy Huthwaite
2003 Dr Bruce William Harding
2004 Robert Lancaster Brunskill
2005 Cyril Jones
2006 George Hilton Brown
2008 Brian and Joy Kahlefeldt
2009 Michael Kennedy OAM
2010 Brian Gerald Kennedy
2011 Bill Kerr
2012 Marguerite (Madge) Wallace
2013  June Dunn 
2014  Marie & Dr William Thompson 
2015 Henry "Arthur" Nixon
2016 John Brasier
2017 Jim Elphick
2018 -
2019 Cecil 'Bob' Scott
2020 John Mason
2021 Bill Jacob
2022 Richard 'Dick' Green
2023Aunty Isabel Reid and Aunty Kath Withers
2024Peter Cox

Previous Ted Ryder Sports Memorial recipients

Year Recipient Name
2015 Steven Kimball
2017 Anthony Paul
2018 Peter Lloyd
2019 -
2020 Geoffrey Jacobson
2021 -
2022 Brian Robinson
2023Henri Moreels

2024 Environmental Citizen of the Year - Demonstration Gardens Wagga Wagga

For over 23 years, Jim Rees and Canny  Kinloch have been instrumental figures in the formation and growth of Wagga Wagga’s Demonstration Gardens in Shaw Street. The Wagga Wagga Demonstration Gardens is an open and inviting community garden where locals can visit, connect and learn through the demonstration of gardening techniques, landscaping and more.

Jim and Canny provide a warm welcome to all corners, particularly those who are new to Wagga Wagga and love to share their wealth of knowledge with all community members. They dedicate their time to teaching new skills and championing community spirit. They both exhibit compassion and understanding when discussing how to make small environmental changes.

Previous Environmental Citizen of the Year recipients

Year Recipient Name
2020 Ben Holt
2021 Edward Maher
2022 Rotary Club of South Wagga Wagga
2024Demonstration Gardens Wagga Wagga