In 2015, Council installed 25 Closed Circuit TV (CCTV) Cameras in the Wagga Wagga Central Business District (CBD). These cameras are located in Station Place, Baylis Street, Fitzmaurice Street and the taxi rank at the eastern end of Gurwood Street.

The cameras send images to the Wagga Wagga Police Station where the system can be monitored by the Local Area Command particularly in the event of an incident or at peak times. The recorded images will only be used and/or disclosed for law enforcement or other lawful purposes.

All recorded images that are not part of any ongoing police investigation, or court proceeding or required for any other lawful reason will be deleted after approximately 30 days.


Funding for the installation of CCTV in Wagga Wagga's CBD was received from:

  • $500,000 - Federal funding under the Safer Streets Community Program
  • $471,435 - Wagga Wagga City Council
  • $100,000 - NSW Government Community Building Partnership (CBP)
  • $90,000 - Australian Governments Safer Suburbs Program - Taxi Security Scheme.
  • $81,818 - Committee 4 Wagga (C4Wagga) local funding initiative from local business and community members


Closed Circuit Television (CCTV) Policy POL 058 188.0 KB Download

CCTV - Memorandum of Understanding 1.3 MB Download

CCTV - Code of Practice 487.9 KB Download

CCTV - Standard Operating Procedure 283.3 KB Download


CCTV Locations in Wagga Wagga 2.8 MB Download


CCTV installation works underway

Council News - 23 May 2015

Council News - 17 January 2015

More information

Further inquiries can be directed to Wagga Wagga City Council on 1300 292 442 or by email at